The Winkler Institute has a diverse team of staff and student fellows. Click the links below to learn more about us!


Martha Simmons


Martha Simmons has been the Director of Osgoode’s Mediation Intensive Program and Mediation Clinic since 2012.  She joined the full-time faculty in July 2017.  As the Director of the Winkler Institute, she also serves as the Winkler Professor in Dispute Resolution.

Professor Simmons, who has JD, LLM and PhD degrees from Osgoode, was the recipient of an Osgoode Hall Law School Teaching Award in 2013 for her work in both the JD and Graduate Programs. Her primary areas of research and teaching are dispute resolution, legal education, innovation and access to justice.

Jean-Paul Bevilacqua

Assistant Director

Jean-Paul Bevilacqua is the assistant director of the Winker Institute for Dispute Resolution. He graduated from Osgoode Hall Law School in 2015 and subsequently completed his time as a student-at-law with the Ministry of the Attorney General of Ontario. He was called to the Ontario bar in June of 2016. Upon graduation from Osgoode, he was awarded the Dean’s Gold Key, as well as the Legal & Literary Society Student Honour Award, both for outstanding and significant contribution and leadership in the law school community. He works primarily within the realms of advocacy, public service and alternative dispute resolution.

Trevor Farrow

Chair of the Executive Committee

Trevor C. W. Farrow, AB (Princeton), BA/MA (Oxford), LLB (Dalhousie), LLM (Harvard), PhD (Alberta), is the Associate Dean and a Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School. He is also the former Academic Director of the Winkler Institute for Dispute Resolution, and the Chair of the Canadian Forum on Civil Justice. Professor Farrow’s teaching and research focus on the administration of civil justice, including legal process, legal and judicial ethics, advocacy, globalization, and development. He was formerly a litigation lawyer at Torys LLP in Toronto. Professor Farrow has received teaching awards from Harvard University and Osgoode Hall Law School.

Nicole Aylwin

Research Fellow

Nicole Aylwin is a research fellow at the Winkler Institute for Dispute Resolution at Osgoode Hall Law School, where she was the past co-director. Nicole currently sits on the Steering Committee of the Action Committee for Access to Justice in Civil and Family Matters and is an Adjunct Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School where she teaches courses on access to justice, legal innovation and technology and legal services design. She is also a part-time Tribunal Member of the Condominium Authority Tribunal in Ontario.

Deanne M. Sowter

Research Fellow

Deanne M. Sowter, BFA (York), MFA (American Film Institute), JD (Osgoode Hall Law School), is the 2015/16 OBA Foundation Chief Justice of Ontario Fellow in Legal Ethics and Professionalism Studies, and a Research Fellow at the Winkler Institute for Dispute Resolution. Her project looks at the links between research and practice by considering all three components that serve as guidance for family law lawyers when dealing with ethical challenges in family law ADR: codes of conduct and professional standards, academic research, and ethics in practice. Ms. Sowter practices Family Law, specializing in negotiated settlements. Ms. Sowter summered and articled at a full service Bay street firm, and prior to becoming a lawyer, Ms. Sowter worked in the film industry for 13 years. Ms. Sowter’s research interests lie in the areas of family law, professional ethics, and alternative dispute resolution.